Plenary Speakers

Dr Ceri Brenner


Dr Brenner is the leader of the Centre for Accelerator Science at ANSTO. This centre is capable of ion beam analysis and accelerator mass spectrometry, which have applications in air pollution studies, climate science, material characterisation, isotropic dating, nuclear detector characterisation, and more.

Dr Vincent Ricardo Daria

Australian National University

Doctor Daria is a researcher in the Department of Quantum Science and Technology at the Australian National University. His research is focused on using multi-photon microscopes and femtosecond lasers to probe neuronal functions.

Prof. Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem

The University of Adelaide

Professor Ebendorff-Heidepriem is the deputy director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing and the director of the Optofab hub at Adelaide. She is the senior investigator of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics. Her research area is the development and fabrication of optical glasses and fibres for novel sensing techniques.

Prof. Glenn Solomon

The University of Adelaide

Professor Solomon is the inaugural Hicks Chair of Quantum Materials at the University of Adelaide. His research area is semiconductor quantum optics, wherein he combines semiconductor crystal growth and quantum optics techniques. He specialises in nanostructure fabrication, and has partnered with companies such as Silanna and DSTG.

Dr. Alexis Méndez

MCH Engineering LLC, California, USA

Dr Méndez is president of MCH Engineering LLC—a consulting firm specializing in optical fibre sensing technology. Dr. Mendez was the former Group Leader of the Fiber Optic Sensors Lab within ABB Corporate Research (USA) where he led R&D activities for the development of fiber sensors for use in industrial plant, oil & gas, and high voltage electric power applications. He was also Director of Engineering Sensing Solutions at Micron Optics. He has written 70 technical publications, taught multiple short courses, holds 5 US patents and is recipient of an R&D100 award.